Twenty-five high school seniors from Edmond Public Schools have been named 2018 National Merit Semifinalists-a designation that places them in the top 1% of U.S. high school seniors.

The prestigious scholastic competition recognizes students for academic success in the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Edmond’s Semifinalists include five from Edmond Santa Fe High School, seven from Edmond Memorial High School and 13 from Edmond North High School. The district has the most 2018 Semifinalists of any public or private district in the state.

“To be named a National Merit Semifinalist is to be recognized as one of the most academically talented high school students in the nation,” said Superintendent Bret Towne. “We commend these students on this tremendous achievement and can’t wait to discover where their career aspirations lead them.”

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for millions of dollars in scholarships. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® award. Many colleges and universities, including offer full ride scholarships to Finalists.

The names of Edmond’s National Merit Semifinalists are as follows:

Edmond North High School: 

13 students stand before the Edmond North Husky Statue

Caeli Dedmon

Lauren Emerson

Alec Foster

Emily Kidwell

Joyce Lee

Keegan Myers

Jackson Nestelroad

Bethany Paris

Travis Robnett

Michael Shively

Zachary Short

Karli Spann

Matthew Tripp

Edmond Memorial High School:

Seven students stand in front of the EMHS Bulldog mascot

Alex Chao

Alexandra Chiconas

Nicholas Gonzalez

Jason Hughes

Yeahwon Lee

Nathaniel Milligan

Laurel Semprebon

Edmond Santa Fe High School: 

Five SFHS students stand in front of the Wolf Mascot

Brian Carlton

Nick Chen

Jessica Fan

Alexander Gonzalez Marcano

Ryleigh Horst

For more information on the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, go to