Superintendent Bret Towne has been selected as the 2018 District #7 Superintendent of the Year and Chief Human Resources Officer Randy Decker has been selected as the 2018 District #7 Assistant Superintendent/Central Office Administrator of the Year by the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA), a member organization of the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA). District #7 includes Oklahoma and Cleveland Counties.

The nominations and selections are made by the members of the 20 OASA districts in the state of Oklahoma. Superintendents are recognized for what they have contributed to the profession through leadership and advocacy for public education. Assistant Superintendent/Central Office Administrators are recognized for the demonstration of successful experience in a top-level administrative position, their ability to inspire and motivate people and the promotion of personal and professional growth.

“I am honored to be recognized by my peers in OASA District #7,” said Towne. “The Superintendents in this region are among the finest in the state and I am proud to represent them this year with this award.”

Towne has been Superintendent of Edmond Public Schools since July 2015. He oversees nearly 25,000 students, 2800 employees, 27 campuses and a $143M budget. The district is the third largest in Oklahoma and the fastest growing in the state averaging 500 new students each year. It has 11 National Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence and eight Great Expectations (GE) Model schools.  By receiving the District #7 honor, he will now have the opportunity to submit his application for 2018 OASA State Superintendent of the Year.

Decker has served as Chief Human Resources Officer for 13 of his 24 years in the district. During that time, he has managed the district’s transition to a paperless process and overseen the recruitment, orientation, compensation, compliance, evaluation, and discipline of all employees.  The district has been named to The Oklahoman’s Top Workplaces list for the past three years.

Towne and Decker will receive their awards during the OASA awards banquet held in conjunction with the CCOSA School Leadership Summer Conference held in June.