Thirteen seniors from Edmond Public Schools have been named candidates for the prestigious U.S. Presidential Scholars Program-the most of any district in the state. The program was established in 1964 by executive order of the President to recognize and honor the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors.

The students were selected based on their academic and artistic success, leadership and involvement in their school and community.

The students are as follows:

Edmond North High School

  • Madeline Allen
  • Caeli Dedmon
  • Joyce Lee
  • Ethan Lietch
  • Keegan Myers
  • Jackson Nestelroad
  • Bethany Paris
  • Lauryn Stokes

Edmond Santa Fe High School

  • Brian Carlton
  • Jessica Fan

Edmond Memorial High School

  • Alex Chao
  • Yeahwon Lee
  • Laurel Sempredon

In April, the Commission on Presidential Scholars reviews the applications of all semifinalists. The Commission selects up to 161 U.S Presidential Scholars each year. All scholars are honored for their accomplishments during the National Recognition Program, held in June in Washington, D.C.

For more information, go to