Edmond Public Schools has announced its 2018-2019 Site Teachers of the Year. The teachers were chosen by their peers at each of the district’s 27 schools.

Superintendent Bret Towne said that the site teachers of the year are dedicated, highly engaged educators.

“Common among our site teachers of the year is how they demonstrate their commitment to their students. They take the time to understand their students personally, celebrate their students’ achievements and promote a culture of mutual respect in the classroom all while holding students to high academic standards.”

One of the 27 site teachers of the year will be named the 2018-2019 Edmond Teacher of the Year next spring and represent the district at the state competition.  The district winner is decided by the district’s professional development committee.

The honorees are as follows:

Angie Debo Site Teacher of the Year Randy Ceynar stands with loved ones
Angie Debo Teacher of the Year (left) Randy Ceynar.


Randy Ceynar-Angie Debo first-grade teacher

Holly Cox-Centennial first-grade teacher

Kristen Case-Charles Haskell Pre-K teacher

Linzi Clem-Chisholm third-grade teacher

Julie Shortt-Clegern second-grade teacher

Kelly Bertels-Cross Timbers second-grade teacher

Rene Axtell-Frontier special education teacher

Jenae Standingwater-Heritage fifth-grade teacher

Maegan Barnes-Ida Freeman Kindergarten teacher

Krista Frias-John Ross Kindergarten teacher

Hannah Wilson-Northern Hills Kindergarten teacher

Laura Suttles-Orvis Risner fifth-grade teacher

Terri Ritterhouse -Russell Dougherty third-grade teacher

Kerri Gray-Sunset third-grade teacher

Natalie Wehmuller-Washington Irving fifth-grade teacher

Laura Nelson-West Field first-grade teacher

Jennifer Wright-Will Rogers fifth-grade teacher

Sequoyah Middle School Teacher Kristen Hufty with flowers and a banner announcing her as Teacher of the Year
Sequoyah Teacher of the Year, Kristen Huffty


Emily Busey-Central Social Studies teacher

Ashley Pettiet-Cheyenne leadership teacher

Kristen Patterson-Cimarron Geography teacher

Kathryn Ash-Heartland special education teacher

Kristen Huffty-Sequoyah English teacher

Kimberly Kerr-Summit Science teacher


High School:

Edmond Memorial High School Teacher of the Year Christy Nieves poses with dozens of students
EMHS Teacher of the Year Christy Nieves

Lisa Schritter-Miley -Boulevard Interim Alternative Educational Setting teacher

Christy Nieves-Edmond Memorial English teacher

Cara Bowerman-Edmond North Art teacher

KC Williams -Edmond Santa Fe Government teacher