Individuals interested in running as a candidate for Seat No. 5 on the Edmond Board of Education may file from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Dec. 2- 4 at the Oklahoma County Election Board located at 4201 N. Lincoln Boulevard.  The primary election will be held Feb. 11, 2020, with the general election to be held April 7, 2020.

Edmond’s school board consists of five members, one from each election district, who serve a five-year term with one member’s term expiring each year. Current school board members are Lee Ann Kuhlman, Seat No. 1, Kathleen Duncan, Seat No. 2, Jamie Underwood, Seat No. 3, Cynthia Benson, Seat No. 4 and Meredith Exline, Seat No. 5. Exline’s term is expiring.

To be eligible to be a member of the Board of Education a candidate must live in the district, be a registered voter in the district, have a high school diploma or equivalency and not be employed by the district or have immediate family members employed by the district. Click the link below to view the boundaries for Seat No. 5.

School Board Boundaries

The Edmond school board typically meets on the first Monday of each month.  The board concentrates its time on policy-making to serve students and staff, hiring and evaluating the superintendent, and collaborating with the superintendent to identify methods for improving district programs, procedures and operations.