Sixteen students from Edmond Public Schools have been named semifinalists in the prestigious 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. It’s believed to be the most semifinalists every named from the district.  They were selected from more than 5,000 candidates expected to graduate from U.S. high schools.

Gold medal draped over a stack of books

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

The student qualifiers are:

Edmond North: 

  • Alisha Arshad
  • Carson Confer
  • Logan Hutchens
  • Emily Murphy
  • Carolyn Sutliff

Edmond Santa Fe:

  • Rakin Hussain
  • Fiza Sheikh
  • Jessica White
  • Joshua Zhu

Edmond Memorial:

  • Katherine Adkins
  • William Hartman
  • Keegan Leibrock
  • Piper Turner
  • Liberty Walton
  • Oliver Wu
  • Kevin Zhang

The 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education.