An Edmond elementary school teacher is among six state-level finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

This year’s K-6 math finalists are:

  • Jennifer Donwerth, Centennial Elementary, Edmond Public Schools
  • Hollie Fuller, Homer Elementary, Byng Public Schools
  • Bridgette Shelton, Elk City Elementary, Elk City Public Schools

This year’s K-6 science finalists are:

  • Lisa Pitts, Oakdale Middle School, Oakdale Public School
  • Keri Thompson, Bryant Elementary, Moore Public Schools
  • Karla White, Earl Harris Elementary, Bethany Public Schools

Centennial Elem. teacher Jennifer DonwerthJennifer Donwerth teaches second grade at Centennial Elementary. She loves incorporating technology into student learning. Donwerth has been teaching for 14 years.

“Math should be exciting. I wish for my students not just to learn math but to experience it. I desire for them to feel safe enough to explore, discover, and take risks. I want to hear them talking about math and seeing its application in their everyday lives.”

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister said these exceptional teachers are models of excellence in education in Oklahoma.  “Their talent and creativity in providing effective ways to connect children with real-world learning are paving the way for students to succeed in college and in their careers. I congratulate them on receiving this well-deserved recognition.”

Established in 1983, PAEMST is the highest recognition a K-12 mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Awards alternate each year between elementary and secondary teachers.

The finalists were chosen by a local selection committee of teachers, district-level personnel, representatives from higher education and past awardees. Each finalist demonstrated a mastery of math or science instruction and the effective use of student assessments to improve student learning. Up to two Oklahoma finalists could be named national recipients of the award.

The national recipients represent all 50 states and U.S. territories. Winners will receive a paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and a certificate signed by the President of the United States.